Posted by: Kris | June 19, 2007

Goodnight Dawlin’

It’s hard to believe it’s our last night here; it’s gone by so quickly. We’ve packed so much in! This has been the toughest and most rewarding work I’ve ever done, and I am grateful to Berklee for sending me here. I’ve laughed so hard this week – tears rolling down my eyes – met volunteers from all of the country, tasted phenominal food, grieved for the community’s losses, and marveled at its resiliance. This afternoon I considered delaying my return to Boston so I could stay longer…even thought of skipping out on my graduation from Massage Therapy school. But truth is, there’s plenty of work to do here. And it’ll be here when I return. I WILL return. Berklee sponsored or not. This trip has renewed my committment to community, to Berklee, and gifted me new friendships with eight very special people. I personally want to thank all of the areas of Berklee that supported this project. I don’t know if you’ll ever be able to fully appreciate what your support has created….and given to me personally. Thank you Roya, for spearheading this endeavor and reminding me about “the power of one”. You are a gem. Thank you Rob, for your blogging expertise and easy going nature. Thank you Chris, for sharing your knowledge of finance with me and sharing so much about yourself (we have a lot more in common than our preference of creamy vs. crunchy peanut butter). Thank you Catherine, for your stellar pirate and Irish impersonations that gave me a good ‘ole belly laugh. Thank you Matt, for your enthusiasm about absolutely everything. Thank you Jason, for your comedic timing and assistance with that stubborn piece of wood that wouldn’t stay down for our flooring project! Thank you Jenna, for your sharp wit and laid back attitude. Thank you Brian, for all of your lunch runs and sunny disposition. And lastly, thank you New Orleans. Thank you for showing me one of the best times of my life….for opening your arms and embracing me…for your stories….for your hospitality….and for showing me that although Katrina may have blown down the levees, she can’t knock down the people. Ever. I love you, NOLA. Goodnight.

kris_hammer.jpg

Responses

  1. Hey Kris, and the rest of the Berkley Crew. Greetings from MN! Beautifully written, perhaps we will meet up with each other once again in NOLA, my home away from home……..

  2. Hi Jen & MN Crew! We miss you!!!!

  3. Hi Berklee Crew!! Great blog you have. I still can’t quite let go of this great experience. I still am reading all of the blog entries. I hopefully will get back to NOLA someday soon, but in the meantime I’m going to keep connected with Habitat. I already signed up to work on a house in Minneapolis in August. It was great to meet all of you. Too bad we didn’t meet up for any nights on the town. Maybe another time. Take care!!
    Angie

  4. You’re welcome! And thank you for sharing so many ideas for adventures in and around the city and for letting me and others tag along on several of your most excellent ideas! It was awesome having master traveler in the group to help fill the time between home building!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

